Skip to content

A Bonfireless Bonfire Night

November 6, 2008

fireworks1

Last night we took the baby to see the main fireworks display in town. It was very different to the bonfire nights of my youth and I must confess I was a little disappointed. The main reason for this was the fact that there was no bonfire. For me, the bonfire is the best part of bonfire night (and the whole point!) – yes, fireworks are pretty and the kids seem to love them but I’ve always loved standing close to the bonfire, listening to the roar of the fire and  feeling my cheeks glow with warmth. I guess it appeals to my more primitive side! 

Also lacking were sparklers – instead every child I saw seemed to be waving a huge plastic glowstick. I know bonfires are not exactly environmentally friendly but I dread to think how the glowsticks are made! I don’t want to sound like a total killjoy. We did have a very nice time and the display was very impressive. The baby seemed to enjoy it too – well, by enjoy, I mean she didn’t cry! She did jump when the first few fireworks went off but she soon became transfixed by all the sparkliness! Next year, however, I will be seeking out a more traditional bonfire event with sparklers, hot potatoes, a Guy and, most importantly of all, a bonfire!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

