Skip to content

Hay-on-Wye

November 5, 2008

My other birthday treat was a trip to Hay-on-Wye. As a book lover, I could quite happily spend days browsing through the books in Hay’s many, many bookshops. However, amazingly, this time I came back without any books. I put it down to the fact that the baby seemed far less interested in browsing than me! I did come back with something equally good though: 2 skeins of wool – and not just any wool, but locally-produced bluefaced leicester pure wool.

wool

It is lovely and soft and I plan on using it to make a scarf for my sister for christmas. I bought the wool from the Wool and Willow Gallery, a co-operative of wool producers, spinners, weavers and dyers and a real treasure trove of beautiful yarns. It is a place which I must limit my visits to – it’ll be fatal for my bank balance otherwise!

The journey there and back was also very special. On the way out we stopped off at Arthur’s Stone, a neolithic chambered tomb near the village of Dorstone, Herefordshire. 

arthursstone1

Originally, the chambers would have been covered by a mound but this has now mostly eroded away. The tomb comprises nine uprights which support a huge capstone. There is also an interesting curved entrance passage. The tomb rests on a ridge in the Golden Valley area of Herefordshire so there are some impressive views. 

snow2

On the way home, we decided to go over the mountains which, although a bit of a hairy drive at times, is worth it for the wonderful views. This time we were rewarded with wintery scenes of snow-covered mountains. It was unexpected and very beautiful – a perfect end to a perfect day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 2:58 pm

    Hey! We live about two minutes from Arthers Stone 🙂 Wool and Willow is a fave of mine too!

  2. November 5, 2008 3:47 pm

    Wow!!! what gorgeous views!! A reallly nice birthday treat!! And although I am no kniiter the wool looks lovley… I am so inspired with all the creations that can be made from knitting I really want to be able to have a go at knitting myself… my Mum was always clacking away with the needles but it just did not rub off on to me….
    Lovely pictures and post….
    Love Jane xxx

  3. November 5, 2008 4:29 pm

    mamauk – lucky you – it’s a beautiful part of the world! We hope to move back to ‘the shire’ someday. At the moment it’s probably a good thing that I’m not too close to Wool and Willow – I’d be likely to blow the housekeeping money on yarn otherwise!

    Jane – thank you. I too hope to be able to knit one day. I’m trying to learn but its slow going! At the moment I crochet which I find a million times easier than knitting but there are such gorgeous knitting patterns out there that I really want to learn!

  4. November 6, 2008 3:54 pm

    Blue- faced Leicester – one of my very favourites. Lovely wool!

    I like the mountain picture too.

    MrsL

    xx

  5. November 6, 2008 7:50 pm

    MrsL – thanks – I’m looking forward to using it but I’m making myself finish off some projects that have been dragging first though…..

Leave a Reply

