Skip to content

Recipe: Seasonal Squash Soup

October 28, 2008

I must confess, I bought these squash from my local Farmers Market simply because I thought they looked pretty. However, after several days of admiring them perched in an alcove in my kitchen (the squash – not me), I decided it was time to do something a bit more useful with them. I wanted something we could enjoy as a family and decided to make a nice, warming, seasonal soup. This is what I came up with:

Ingredients

1 large onion, peeled and roughly chopped

1 plump clove of garlic, crushed

2 medium sized leeks, sliced

2 medium sized winter squashes or 1 large butternut squash, peeled and chopped

2 potatoes, peeled and roughly chopped

700ml homemade vegetable stock or water

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp coriander

generous knob of butter

olive oil

Method

Melt the butter in the saucepan, adding a dash of olive oil. Fry the onion and leeks gently until softened. Add the garlic and fry for 1 minute then stir in the spices and cook for a further minute. Add the carrots and the squash then pour over the stock and add the potatoes. Bring to a gentle simmer, cover and cook for 30 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Blend to a smooth consistency and serve.

For a spicier soup, use 1/2 tsp each of the coriander and cumin and grate in some root ginger with the garlic.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. thegardensmallholder permalink
    October 29, 2008 9:22 am

    On a cold day like today just seeing the photo of that delicious looking soup has warmed me up a little!
    Looks absolutely divine, I must try this one 🙂

    Karen

  2. October 29, 2008 12:38 pm

    I’m just sitting down to the last of my cold weather veg’ soup and I’m drooling all over your squash soup! No wonder I’m going wobbly round the middle!!

    I’m going to give this recipe a go tomorrow, I’ll let you know how I get on!

    Enjoy Westonbirt next week and have a lovely b’day!!!

    much love,
    hen
    xxx

  3. October 29, 2008 1:10 pm

    Thanks both – I wish I had some left as it’s just what I fancied when we got back from the park earlier – it was so cold the baby’s lips were going blue despite me wrapping her up in plenty of layers! I guess i better start crocheting her a scarf and hat.

  4. October 29, 2008 11:36 pm

    Mmmmmmmmmm squash soup !It looks yummy I must say!

    I always find Compostgirl can always be tempted by some, even when very poorly!

  5. November 2, 2008 12:32 pm

    … right I’ve got the ingredients… I’m off to make it!

    yippee!

Leave a Reply

