Skip to content

Brownies – yum!

October 26, 2008

As my previous two posts have been rants, I thought it was about time I injected some sweetness into the blogosphere – so here you go – brownies!

But these are no ordinary brownies, oh no – these are Beetroot Brownies. We had a really good beetroot crop this year which I have roasted, pickled and made into soup. I was wondering what to do with my remaining few beetroot when, as if on cue (thanks Hugh!), River Cottage Autumn featured some unusual Beetroot recipes – including one for Beetroot Brownies which I knew I would have to try.

So, they look fairly yummy but what do they taste like? Well, pretty much like chocolate brownies to be honest! I gave some to my parents-in-law without telling them what the ‘added’ ingredient was and they were unable to guess. I do think they have a slightly earthier taste to normal brownies, however, and combined with the fact that I used very bitter dark chocolate, this makes them more of a ‘grown-up’ treat. Yum!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emma permalink
    November 2, 2008 4:27 pm

    i had a go of making this dish last weekend, and I have to say they were totallly yummy, plus they do seem to keep really well!
    I did the taste test with my work colleges and they all agreed that they were worth cooking again.

Leave a Reply

