Skip to content

A bit of variety….

October 15, 2008

 

As I mentioned in the previous post, I came back from the Big Apple Festival amazed by the sheer variety of apples in existence. Amazed, but also a little saddened that so few of these varieties are available commercially. Most supermarkets seem to value looks and resilience to bruising over taste and distinctiveness. It is a great shame as there are some spectacular apples out there. 

I bought many, many apples at the festival. Some of these were varieties that I hadn’t tried before and I decided to record my impressions, so that when I finally get round to planting some apple trees, I’ll know which varieties to opt for.

Ashmead's Kernal, Lord Lambourne, Egremont Russet and Topaz

Left to Right: Ashmead's Kernal, Lord Lambourne, Egremont Russet and Topaz

Ashmead’s Kernal

Not the most attractive of apples, but what it lacks in looks, it makes up for with flavour. It is refreshingly zingy, very flavourful and one of the tastiest apples I’ve eaten in a long while. If you like your apples crisp and sharp, this is the one to go for.

Lord Lambourne

A lovely juicy apple, neither too sweet or too sharp. Crisp and tasty with an aromatic flavour. Delicious!

Egremont Russet

Interesting delicate flavour, nicely balanced between sweet and sharp. However, I found the flesh strangely dry and the skin had just a hint of bitterness, making this my least favourite of the four.

Topaz

Crisp and tasty with quite a sharp flavour. Again, a little on the dry side for my tastes but still pretty good!

If like me, you’re keen to support the growing of traditional apple varieties and encourage diversity and distinctiveness, please take a look at Common Ground, a charity promoting these aims.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2008 3:38 am

    Wow, your blog is gorgeous! I’ll be adding you to my reader. I also really love the Cascade scarf pattern. I have one that’s really similar and I’d love to make more. I’ll be linking to this project.

  2. October 18, 2008 11:16 pm

    mmm we are off up the road with 100 Kg of apples tomorrow to the Little Cider Press (about a mile away!) to be turned into cider and juice…I shall keep a drink back for you!

    See blog for pics later on !

Leave a Reply

