Skip to content

Russet, Plum and Sloe Gin Mincemeat

October 13, 2008

 

I haven’t been able to post for a little while as I have been ill and then had guests staying so was kept very busy! Before I succumbed to an evil bout of flu, however, I was able to get started with some Christmas cooking and finally have a few moments to share the results with you…

The recipe I used is from Pam Corbin’s wonderful book, Preserves (reviewed here) and it makes a deliciously fruity and light mincemeat. There is no suet, so the mincemeat has a lovely freshness to it and is also suitable for vegetarians. I also love how it uses seasonal fruits – apples and plums – to make something really special. The only negative point is that the mincemeat was a bit more runny than I would usually expect, however, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing and is probably due to the fact that I pureed the plums through a sieve rather than whizzed them up in a blender. I wholeheartedly recommend the recipe – if only for the gorgeous christmassy fug that fills the kitchen as you cook it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sue Taylor permalink
    January 13, 2010 8:32 pm

    I wholeheartedly agree about the mincemeat. I wish I had made loads more. I have used it in mince pies, a large lattic mince pie and today in a crumble with apples and orange juice, courtesy of Nigel Slater. It is brilliant and such a nice change from the usual mincemeat with suet.

Leave a Reply

