Skip to content

Celebrating the Seasons

September 8, 2008

 

As a nature-lover, seasonality has always been important to me and, now that we’re growing our own food, it’s become even more so. Seasonality and sustainability are invariably linked, particularly when it comes to food, but as well as informing our shopping and cooking choices, I think it is good to take time to reflect upon each season and take steps to fully appreciate them. All of the seasons have their good points, but for me, autumn is without a doubt my favourite. I love the vibrant colours, the abundance of seasonal produce, the celebrations and the fact that I can switch from putting together salads to simmering vats of steaming stews and soups. This autumn, I have a number of activities planned to help us celebrate autumn together as a family. These include a family visit to Westonbirt Arboretum, attending an apple festival, holding a seasonal feast, creating an autumn wreath, devising some seasonal recipes and making up a batch of my famous (well famous amongst my family at least) mulled cider. I’ll blog about each of these in due course and with this in mind I’m creating some new categories in my blog – one for each season – starting with autumn. I hope this will allow me to build up a collection of seasonal recipes and activities and create a useful resource for anyone else who wants to start celebrating the seasons more fully. I hope you enjoy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. silvercharmster permalink
    September 9, 2008 2:51 pm

    What a great idea!!! I was just thinking it’s about time to go apple-picking here. I’ll look forward to reading more about your autumn activities!

  2. September 9, 2008 3:07 pm

    Thanks. I spotted a heavily-laden crab apple tree when we were out blackberrying last and plan on picking some to make Crab Apple Jelly. I just need it to stop raining long enough so we can go get them! The rain doesn’t bother me, but the baby is less keen! Enjoy your apple picking.

Leave a Reply

