Skip to content

Beetroot and Apple Soup

September 8, 2008

Inspecting the veg patch today, I found that some of the beetroot were getting ridiculously large. I’d pulled half the crop a few weeks ago and pickled it but today I was in the mood for soup. I looked through my recipe books for a recipe that would be suitable for all three of us (baby included) and one that wouldn’t require a shopping trip. Not having any luck, I decided to invent my own recipe.

Beetroot and Apple Soup

 

Serves 4

6 medium-sized beetroot
2 onions, peeled and sliced
2-3 potatoes, peeled and cut into small chunks
1 large bramley apple
olive oil
1 litre vegetable stock or water
1 bay leaf
juice of 1 lemon
creme fraiche
freshly milled black pepper to taste 

Scrub the beetroot and remove the stalks. Grate the beetroot into a large bowl.

Heat a little olive oil in a large saucepan and gently fry the onion until soft.

Add the beetroot and potato. Peel, core and chop the apple into chunks then add to the pan. Season well with black pepper.

Pour over the stock, add the bay leaf and simmer for approximately half an hour or until the beetroot is soft.

Remove the bay leaf and puree the soup using a handheld blender.

Add the lemon juice and stir well. Serve in warmed bowls with a generous blob of creme fraiche. 

 

And the verdict……..

A resounding success! The soup had quite a complex taste – earthy but also refreshingly sharp. The apple and lemon countered the sweetness of the beetroot to just the right degree. I only wish I’d made more! I’ll definitely be making this again and, yes, the baby is eating her dinner with no clothes on – it seemed the only sensible way to feed her beetroot!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2008 4:13 am

    That is one seriously adorable photograph. Thanks for the recipe! I don’t think I’ve ever actually cooked with beetroot, but that color sure tempts me to try this out!

  2. September 15, 2008 6:58 pm

    I am absolutely going to try this recipe. Your soup model is too cute. No bib could handle all that.

  3. September 16, 2008 8:08 am

    Thanks very much – I’m eagerly checking my remaining beetroot and as soon as it’s big enough, I’ll be making this again!

  4. October 7, 2008 11:51 am

    Not a big beet person but if that cutie likes it I’ll try it.

  5. violet jeffery permalink
    January 30, 2012 6:47 pm

    done this soup to day,and gust loved the soup,it tasted lovely and felt the goodness..
    first time doing beetroot soup,delicious..

  6. violet jeffery permalink
    January 30, 2012 6:48 pm

    done this soup to day and gust loved it…gust delicious..

Leave a Reply

