Skip to content

Boteh Scarf

August 16, 2008

This is my attempt at the Boteh Scarf pattern by Kathy Merrick, published in Interweave Crochet, Spring 2007. Inspired by Stitchywitch’s version, I decided to use Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino to make the scarf. The colour is Indian Summer. I used 1 skein. 

I’m fairly pleased with how it turned out but I must admit, I’m not as much in love with it as I thought I would be. There’s a few mistakes where I zoned out a bit and the edging could be a bit better spaced. Also, it’s not as long as I’d have liked – but that’s what you get for not checking your gauge I guess! That said, it is a very easy pattern (if you pay attention) and very quick too. There is a mistake in the pattern, however, so check out corrections here

I made it with the intention of giving it as a Christmas gift (yes, I’m starting early!) for my sister-in-law and I probably will still give it to her. I think the colours are lovely – just her sort of thing, so hopefully she’ll like it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2008 8:49 pm

    The scarf came out lovely, I wouldn’t worry about the imperfections.

  2. Zylo permalink
    August 23, 2008 5:55 pm

    This is so pretty! I love how the color flows with the movement of the scarf. Great job.

  3. August 24, 2008 1:15 am

    Very pretty 🙂

  4. miya permalink
    August 26, 2008 8:31 pm

    That is very pretty. OMG!! I’ve been looking for that pattern everywhere. Do you have any idea where I can find it? Its sold out at interweave. I just love it!

  5. Joanna Woolfolk permalink
    November 16, 2008 1:09 am

    Your Boteh Scarf is gorgeous. I, too, have been looking everywhere for the pattern. Can you help me find it??

  6. November 16, 2008 9:50 am

    Hi Joanna,

    Thanks very much. The pattern was originally published in Interweave Crochet Spring 2007. However, they now have the pdf for sale on their website here: http://shop.interweave.com/store/Boteh-Scarf-P472C41.aspx

    Hope that helps!

    • smelly pants permalink
      May 7, 2009 3:46 am

      At that site can you buy the whole magazine or just the boteh pattern?

      • May 7, 2009 7:15 am

        Hi there – it’s just the pattern but I think there are other patterns from that issue available too.

Leave a Reply

