Skip to content

Blackberry Jam

August 10, 2008

Usually I make my blackberry jam in September. However, after noticing the brambles by the river were laden with plump and juicy berries, I was prompted to start early this year. I make blackberry jam in quite small quantities as I like to try out lots of different recipes and, if I’m honest, my favourite thing to do with blackberries is to use them to make Blackberry Gin! However, the recipe can easily be doubled or tripled depending on the quantity of fruit you have. 

Blackberry Jam

Makes 1 x 500ml Kilner Jar plus a little extra for instant use!

450g blackberries, washed

180 – 200g apples, peeled, cored and chopped

1 tbsp water

juice of half a lemon

525g granulated sugar, warmed.

Place the blackberries and apples in a pan with the lemon juice and water and simmer for approximately 30 mins until soft. Add the warmed sugar to the fruit and stir until dissolved. Bring the jam to boil and boil rapidly until setting point* is reached. Pour into a sterilized kilner jar or jam jars if you prefer. You will probably have a little extra left over. I usually either use this straight away or put in a ramekin dish covered with clingfilm and store in the fridge. 

*There are various ways to test if the jam is ready. I use the following method: Put a dollop of jam on a cold plate, leave for a few seconds then gently prod it with your finger. If the surface wrinkles then the jam is ready. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2008 8:08 am

    Thank for this recipe, I made it yesterday and it is delicious! I’ve put the piccies on my blog. Your blackberry gin sounds interesting… are there any instructions you could share (i.e. what ratios do you of fruit and alcohol)
    Best wishes

  2. September 5, 2008 8:42 am

    Thanks very much – and thank you for the nice write up on your blog. I’m glad your jam turned out well – I’ve never tried to make jam in a slow cooker before but it sounds like a very good idea! I’m planning on making the gin this weekend (if it ever stops raining here so I can go blackberrying) and will post the recipe on my blog early next week. I’m not trying to build up suspense or anything – I just need to dig the recipe out! If you’re keen to get started though, I basically just used a recipe for sloe gin (loads available online if you google) and substituted the sloes with blackberries. It’s best to leave to mature for at least a year so I usually make it every year to make sure I have some for each Christmas – missed doing it last year though as my baby was very small so I will be blackberry ginless this Christmas 😦 Luckily I have some 2-year old sloe gin to see me through though!
    Looking forward to seeing your cascade scarf too.

Leave a Reply

